# Letter to Readers

It is once again our pleasure to bring you the updated Midwest Vegetable Production Guide, with updates and fixes from previous versions. This is always a somewhat monotonous process, but when the EPA cancels a product, like chlorpyrifos or dacthal, we have to be sure our guide reflects the regulatory reality of the year. Sometimes, a new mode of action or product hits the market and gets in here too! For example, bicyclopyrone is now available as a herbicide for broccoli, onions, watermelon, and more in a product called Optogen.

Best of luck this year!

En Phillipe

# About Us

# Executive Editor

Ben Phillips, Michigan State University

# Lead Editors

## Horticulture

Ajay Nair, Iowa State University

#### Diseases

Cesar Escalante, Purdue University

#### Insects

Raymond Cloyd, Kansas State University

Weeds

Stephen Meyers, Purdue University

# State Coordinators

Iowa – Patrick O'Malley Indiana – Dan Egel Illinois – Nathan Johanning Kansas – Megan Kennelly Michigan – Ben Phillips Missouri – Touria Eaton Minnesota – Marissa Schuh Ohio – Jim Jasinski

# Programmer

Angeline Tran, angelinetran.com

# **Contributors**

Here is a list of contributors from each of the participating universities from this year and in previous years.

## **Purdue University**

Ashley Adair John Bonkowski Tom Creswell Cesar Escalante Amanda Deering Dan Egel Rick Foster Wenjing Guan Laura Ingwell Petrus Langenhoven Elizabeth Long Elizabeth Maynard Stephen Meyers Scott Monroe Ed White

#### **University of Illinois**

Kacie Athey Mohammad Babadoost Elizabeth Wahle

#### Iowa State University

Dan Fillius Joe Hannan Laura Jesse Iles Donald Lewis Ajay Nair Patrick O'Malley Lina Rodriguez-Salamanca

#### Kansas State University

Raymond Cloyd Megan Kennelly Londa Nwadike Judy O'Mara Cary Rivard

### Michigan State University

Sushila Chaudhari Mary Hausbeck Ben Phillips Marisol Quintanilla Tornel Michael Reinke Zsofia Szendrei Fred Warner Ben Werling Bernard Zandstra About Us

## University of Minnesota

Roger Becker Eric C. Burkness Vince Fritz Anthony Hanson Natalie Hoidal Bill Hutchinson Carl Rosen Marissa Schuh

## University of Missouri

Ramón Arancibia Peng Tian

## Lincoln University

Touria Eaton

## The Ohio State University

Brad Bergefurd Luis Cañas Doug Doohan David Francis Gary Gao Casey Hoy Jim Jasinski Matt Kleinhenz Sally Miller Celeste Welty